H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

Learn about and comment on the next version of EotA in development.
Message
Author
User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#26 Post by DarnYak »

If its a time critical loop, yes (and in real programming languages, the compiler will automatically convert it for you anyway - I dont know if vjass tries to do it or not). In this case, the clarity is more important then the extra calculation that nobody will ever notice.

DarnYak

User avatar
Cokemonkey11
Addict
Addict
Posts: 306
Joined: January 26th, 2008, 12:04 am
Realm: Lordaeron (U.S. West)
Battle.net name: Cokemonkey11

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#27 Post by Cokemonkey11 »

Interesting I didn't know real compilers did that.

I have a friend making what he calls j++, which will be a new precompiler, I'll have to suggest that to him.
Image
I miss EotA :(

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#28 Post by DarnYak »

Yea, good compilers can do some pretty amazing optimizations. If there's anything they're sure they can precalculate, they'll usually do it for you if its not too obscure. I believe even stuff like for loops (ie for(int i=0;i<4;n+=i++); will just get converted to n=6, assuming n starts at 0). They also change operators, such as x*=2 gets converted to x<<1 because its faster.

DarnYak

User avatar
GeneralFunk
3/4s Weeaboo
Posts: 328
Joined: June 3rd, 2009, 11:56 pm
Realm: Azeroth (U.S. East)
Contact:

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#29 Post by GeneralFunk »

I've taken more kindly to preprocessor directives (#define most specifically). While Jasshelper supports constants, it's a complete shame it doesn't support at least #define.
Image

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#30 Post by DarnYak »

While #define is awesome, consts are usually better because they should automatically get replaced at compile time by their actual value, but if its not possible it still has other options. They also have a bit more error checking. While defines are great, don't look down on const.

DarnYak

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#31 Post by DarnYak »

Update: Eliminated the rest except streak blurs (been interrupted a lot tonight, and i need to re-figure out what the hell i did to make streak work). Shouldn't takelong to fix. After that is general tweaks and bug fixes that won't take a significant amount of time, so c5 testing tomorrow looks pretty certain barring more interruptions.

If c5 will run at all is another issue entirely.

DarnYak

User avatar
Dekar
Jelly Doughnut
Posts: 1433
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 8:13 am
Realm: Northrend (Europe)
Battle.net name: Dekar
Location: Germany

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#32 Post by Dekar »

Wohoo! :o


I was refering to this:
Cokemonkey11 wrote:Unfortunately without using a struct stack this is going to look ugly unless you use GC
<EotA@Azeroth> YAKS GO MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Dekar: the ultimate ocean themed hero should buff and depend on spawn waves!
DarnYak: why is that
Dekar: WAVES
Dekar: :D
DarnYak: i was afraid that was the answer

User avatar
Cokemonkey11
Addict
Addict
Posts: 306
Joined: January 26th, 2008, 12:04 am
Realm: Lordaeron (U.S. West)
Battle.net name: Cokemonkey11

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#33 Post by Cokemonkey11 »

He's using GC though... lol
Image
I miss EotA :(

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#34 Post by DarnYak »

I've become completley confused what the hell the end of this thread is about.

EotA loads now. On to fixing up stuff in the bitch thread.

DarnYak

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#35 Post by DarnYak »

I FUCKING HATE YOU BLIZZARD WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS THERES NO FUCKING LGICAL REASON EXCEPT TO FUCK OVER PEOPLE LIKE ME

jamn455
Corpse
Corpse
Posts: 1024
Joined: August 13th, 2006, 11:17 am
Realm: Azeroth (U.S. East)
Location: Trollville, FlAmerica

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#36 Post by jamn455 »

LOL
Line 'em up.
"Black people don't play Mega Man, they play with guns or some shit." - Ion
"If it takes two whole days for a giraffe, you know that giraffe is a tall one." - Wade Phillips

User avatar
Cokemonkey11
Addict
Addict
Posts: 306
Joined: January 26th, 2008, 12:04 am
Realm: Lordaeron (U.S. West)
Battle.net name: Cokemonkey11

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#37 Post by Cokemonkey11 »

:shock: I guess there's a first for everyone.

What's the problem now?
Image
I miss EotA :(

User avatar
GeneralFunk
3/4s Weeaboo
Posts: 328
Joined: June 3rd, 2009, 11:56 pm
Realm: Azeroth (U.S. East)
Contact:

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#38 Post by GeneralFunk »

Though weak competition, EotA is still competition to DotA! And DotA = $$$ for Blizzard.
Image

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#39 Post by DarnYak »

So here's the fucking retarded problem i've been working on all day.

Blizzard added hashtables to use with handles instead of the gamecache. While they did it in a shitty way that made me rewrite a ton of code, that wasn't a problem. Except shit didn't work for no reason. Turns out, you can't override handles with a null. Why would they prohibit this? NO GOOD REASON. How much does this fuck things up? I dont know yet. Fixing it isn't really problem, assuming you went into it with that knowledge, bu tit makes coding it more annoying. Going back and figuring out where i need to fix shit..

DarnYak

User avatar
Dark_Nemesis
Addict
Addict
Posts: 480
Joined: July 13th, 2009, 11:36 am
Realm: Lordaeron (U.S. West)
Battle.net name: Dark_Nemesis
Location: Washington

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#40 Post by Dark_Nemesis »

So is this good or bad in terms of future versions?
Image

America!

User avatar
Cokemonkey11
Addict
Addict
Posts: 306
Joined: January 26th, 2008, 12:04 am
Realm: Lordaeron (U.S. West)
Battle.net name: Cokemonkey11

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#41 Post by Cokemonkey11 »

DarnYak wrote:So here's the fucking retarded problem i've been working on all day.

Blizzard added hashtables to use with handles instead of the gamecache. While they did it in a shitty way that made me rewrite a ton of code, that wasn't a problem. Except shit didn't work for no reason. Turns out, you can't override handles with a null. Why would they prohibit this? NO GOOD REASON. How much does this fuck things up? I dont know yet. Fixing it isn't really problem, assuming you went into it with that knowledge, bu tit makes coding it more annoying. Going back and figuring out where i need to fix shit..

DarnYak
Hashtables don't need to be cleaned of those indices then, just removed the parts where you set them null?

Also, it will pay off in the end. Hashtables are way faster than GC.
Image
I miss EotA :(

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#42 Post by DarnYak »

Well, searching the code it turns out there's only one spot (streak) where its a direct problem. All others go through the wrapper, so I just hade to change it from

Code: Select all

SaveXXXHandle(HT,x,y,v)
to

Code: Select all

if (v!=null) then
   SaveXXXHandle(HT,x,y,v)
else
   DeleteHandle(HT,x,y)
endif
Its really not cool and unnecessary, it should be built into the SaveXXXHandle functionality when the default response of Load is to return null

c5 test in about 30m

DarnYak

User avatar
Cokemonkey11
Addict
Addict
Posts: 306
Joined: January 26th, 2008, 12:04 am
Realm: Lordaeron (U.S. West)
Battle.net name: Cokemonkey11

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#43 Post by Cokemonkey11 »

http://filesmelt.com/downloader/aweso.png

No big. I gotta shower anyway.
Image
I miss EotA :(

User avatar
DarnYak
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2364
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Re: H2I went bye bye... Warcraft III Patch in place.

#44 Post by DarnYak »

I found 2 smaller bugs, last save in progress

DarnYak

Post Reply