Eve of the Apocalypse: Twilight

An Aeon of Strife map for Warcraft 3
It is currently June 25th, 2018, 11:24 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: October 30th, 2009, 7:21 pm 
Offline
Wanderer
Wanderer

Joined: July 14th, 2009, 6:40 pm
Posts: 6
Twice in a row I've gotten spontaneously disconnected, about 5 minutes into the game.
Been playing fine for the past 36 games, and now this.
Any idea what's going on? My net connection is FINE for everything else!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 3:31 pm 
Offline
Retired
Retired
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2007, 3:00 pm
Posts: 647
Is this with the bot hosted games or just EotA in general?

_________________
[Reaper]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 3:52 pm 
Offline
Wanderer
Wanderer

Joined: July 14th, 2009, 6:40 pm
Posts: 6
bot hosted on USEast.
Happened again last night.
Seems to happen every time I play, so I can reproduce for you if you want.

Running on OS X.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 4:58 pm 
Offline
Retired
Retired
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2007, 3:00 pm
Posts: 647
I'll move this to the appropriate forum

_________________
[Reaper]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 9:05 pm 
Offline
Wanderer
Wanderer

Joined: October 30th, 2009, 11:37 am
Posts: 8
I've never witnessed this myself, though on occasion I have been disconnected from Bnet (in my +75 games? now), in which case I simply re-enter. Nothing huge.

Quote:
Running on OS X.


Lol.

Blame MAC xD

Seriously, though, I wouldn't put it out to say it could be something related to MAC? Just a shot in the dark.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 9:46 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: August 19th, 2006, 8:53 pm
Posts: 365
Quote:
Seriously, though, I wouldn't put it out to say it could be something related to MAC? Just a shot in the dark.


I'm not entirely sure if that has anything to do with it. If War3 runs on a mac, he should be able to play any game, as the bot (so far as I know) only deals with putting messages in the chat box; to a client, all that happens is there's a bunch of random output to the chat window, whereas the person running it has to make sure the bot works with their OS. He SHOULD be able to connect, unless there's something I don't know about that the bot does that might be OS specific. (I know it pings the client; might that have something to do with it? Surely, though, OS X and Windows share the same return format for that. . .)

_________________
"L4D2 promises to set a new benchmark for co-op games. . ." Like L4D promised to hand us new maps, survivors, and zombies? We've seen how that works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 10:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm
Posts: 2362
Nothing's changed about the map obviously, unless EotA spontaniously evolved for you.

And noone else is complaining about problems on the bot.

Therefore, its something on your end. Quite possibly bad luck. Beyond that, I've never heard of something that only kicks in 5m into game.

DarnYak


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 10:38 pm 
Offline
Retired
Retired
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2007, 3:00 pm
Posts: 647
Possibly some incompatibility between mac and the bot. But even then, getting kicked 5 minutes in seems like a connection issue

_________________
[Reaper]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 11:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm
Posts: 2362
But he played fine on a mac for 36 games before the disconnects.

Have you tried rebooting? ;P

DarnYak


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2009, 11:51 pm 
Offline
Retired
Retired
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2007, 3:00 pm
Posts: 647
Computers work fine for a while then eventually break


Maybe it's some recent software you added or you need to restart your router. I don't have any other ideas

_________________
[Reaper]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 3rd, 2009, 6:21 am 
Offline
Wanderer
Wanderer

Joined: July 14th, 2009, 6:40 pm
Posts: 6
Since EotA isn't working for me, I play other custom maps (mostly Footmen vs Grunts) and play for hours and they all work fine.

So what is it about EotA that makes it detect a desync a few minutes into the game?
Are the other games getting desync too, but the custom map code doesnt care?
Do ladder games detect desync?

Think about what could affect EotA but not other games.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 3rd, 2009, 6:23 am 
Offline
Wanderer
Wanderer

Joined: July 14th, 2009, 6:40 pm
Posts: 6
And DarnYak I will try rebooting just to make you happy. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 3rd, 2009, 9:10 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: August 19th, 2006, 8:53 pm
Posts: 365
Quote:
...I will try rebooting just to make you happy.


...First thing you should've done.

_________________
"L4D2 promises to set a new benchmark for co-op games. . ." Like L4D promised to hand us new maps, survivors, and zombies? We've seen how that works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 3rd, 2009, 2:09 pm 
Offline
Retired
Retired
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2007, 3:00 pm
Posts: 647
Try playing an EotA that is not hosted on the bot. This may isolate the issue to something between you and the bot.

_________________
[Reaper]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 3rd, 2009, 10:26 pm 
Offline
Wanderer
Wanderer

Joined: July 14th, 2009, 6:40 pm
Posts: 6
I have good news and bad news!

The good news is that after restarting my computer, i just completed a game of EotA without desync... and won!

The bad news is... no bad news! Except that you will all make fun of me now.

Damn gremlins.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 3rd, 2009, 11:41 pm 
Offline
Retired
Retired
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2007, 3:00 pm
Posts: 647
I think you were faking all along to make DarnYak look good

_________________
[Reaper]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 4th, 2009, 2:25 am 
Offline
Jelly Doughnut
User avatar

Joined: May 27th, 2006, 8:13 am
Posts: 1430
Location: Germany
Man, thats so nice of you. :)

Poor yak needs the encouragement.

_________________
<EotA@Azeroth> YAKS GO MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Dekar: the ultimate ocean themed hero should buff and depend on spawn waves!
DarnYak: why is that
Dekar: WAVES
Dekar: :D
DarnYak: i was afraid that was the answer


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group