Eve of the Apocalypse: Twilight

An Aeon of Strife map for Warcraft 3
It is currently April 29th, 2017, 1:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 15th, 2013, 1:24 pm 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
Greetings,

I rented a bot for one month, I might extend this duration if people play, we'll see.
Everyone should be able to use it.
Bot's name is EotaJou and it's on all the servers.
Autohosting AP games (max games 2, like it's going to cap that hehehe), you can .votestart it with 2 players, it supports the .comp and .hcl commands (plus .ping and .from).

It only hosts EotA games right now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 15th, 2013, 6:41 pm 
Offline
Yak's Secretary
Yak's Secretary

Joined: August 12th, 2011, 12:28 pm
Posts: 555
Is there any way to see if people actually join the games?
Would be interesting to note.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 16th, 2013, 11:13 am 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
The web management has a log form which shows like the last 100 lines of the log in real time and I do see people joining the game and dling the map on those lines.
The bot is on .autohosting right now and the current gn is "EotA Twilight AP #1", since yesterday not a damn game has started... sigh... patience

It also has a game history, with the games and players details and other stuff, which for now it only has the games we played the last weekend.

Btw if anyone wants rights to use the bot, to host EotA games :D, ask here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 16th, 2013, 1:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: August 12th, 2006, 2:54 pm
Posts: 2361
The problem is (and this is why I stopped trying to autohost pub games a year or so ago), once people join the bot game and it's not filling up fast/at all, they'll leave and probably not bother to try again, so you end up discouraging potential players by letting the bot sit around empty. Hosting only when people are around might get pubs to join and stay - also, using smaller settings (3v3 on kedge or verdant) might help too.

DarnYak


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 17th, 2013, 11:27 am 
Offline
Yak's Secretary
Yak's Secretary

Joined: August 12th, 2011, 12:28 pm
Posts: 555
Yech, don't make a comparison to say EotA is like Dota. XD
I don't get how the game is supposed to wait for more players when you made it completely filled with computers.

Anyway, I'm pretty pessimistic about the whole idea of autohosting like Yak mentioned.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 17th, 2013, 11:31 am 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
@Yak
The bot motd already tells you can start the game with two players using .votestart and that there is the AI and how to set it up.

Maybe someone will play it single player first... or someone, old players if they still exist, will come and play on the weekend scheduled games (it notifies that too).

Explaining that kedge exists and so on... well the motd can only be 8 lines.

Don't bother too much about it now, when the month has passed then I/we can cry...

@Water
The motd says its an AoS like Dota

About the slots filled with comps... I'll "have" to do something about it because people won't bother removing them once they are added (they can't do .open hehehe)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: July 20th, 2013, 6:22 pm 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
Well the bot has given one fruit?, today someone new showed up at the channel for our scheduled games, a player called bartimaeus, NOT LIKE WATER COUGH COUGH or that other guy who was playing XCOM...

We played, thanks to scheba and his bro, we told him to come tomorrow at the same hour, let's hope he repeats :)

PS: playing full skills rocks, bartimaeus idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: August 9th, 2013, 3:49 pm 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
Seems the bot is half dead, it's there but it can't host games, I sent a mail to the supplier reporting the issue lets hope they fix it before tomorrow games happen.

Just in case update the rowbot with the lastest version please.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: August 9th, 2013, 6:48 pm 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
Update, Bot is working again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: May 25th, 2014, 4:47 am 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
Pasting the different map cfgs:

eota-ap --> EotA Twilight All Pick

eota-rd --> EotA Twilight Random Draft

exodus --> EotA Exodus 1.2b2 (Yak's last version?)

exodus15 --> EotA Exodus E1_5.19c (the one from hiveworkshop)

witching --> Witching Hour 1_1 (Bitching hour!)

dota-uec --> DOTA - Ultimate Eternal Curse v1.00


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: June 22nd, 2014, 5:56 pm 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
After tonight's problem, we couldn't join the bot games when we were going to make our second game of the night, I decided to find a way so we don't need to depend on bnet official servers, because the bot couldn't connect to useast when I restarted it trying to fix the problem. After some researching what I found is that there are these servers called "PVPGN" which emulate a bnet server. I tried to setup the bot to connect to one... and BAM success :D

So now you should be able to see the bot from the server server.eurobattle.net (check viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2277&p=22498#p22498 for more details) the side effect of this change is that to play in this server you don't need an official set of cdkeys... if you know what I mean :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New bot EotaJou
PostPosted: November 14th, 2015, 8:28 am 
Offline
Resident
Resident
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 8:57 am
Posts: 109
Location: Mallorca
Since I changed the bot in January/February, the available map cfgs to play changed, just posting the current ones:

eota-ap-wm --> EotA Twilight All Pick (last wm version, right now NY_6d2)

eota-ar-wm --> EotA Twilight all random (last wm version, right now NY_6d2)

eota-ap --> EotA Twilight All Pick (1.17b2)

eota-ar --> EotA Twilight all random (1.17b2)

eota-exodus --> EotA Exodus 1.2b2 (Yak's last version?)

eota-exodusE --> EotA Exodus E1_5.19c (the one from hiveworkshop)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group