A Report on the Status and Effectiveness of Generators

Post strategies and guides, and comment on those that others have written.

Moderator: Mills

CursedNobleman
Wanderer
Wanderer

A Report on the Status and Effectiveness of Generators

#1 Post by CursedNobleman »

Purpose: Generators are a grossly overlooked aspect of EotA. The purpose of this report is primarily to educate forumgoers about the potential generators possess, and possibly help persuade DarnYak to change the current generator status quo.

Background: I'm CursedNobleman, a player on USEast. I have had at least two years of experience in playing EotA, and a few inhouse games with and against members of Clan EotA. The HostEm bot has allowed me to play EotA more frequently, and currently gives me a large supply of games and players to "experiment" on.

Basics: Generators all have a cost of 150 gold (add another 100 for a worker), take around three minutes to build, and require energy from obelisks to function. Energy also gives a marginal bonus to hero experience when unused allowing people obsessed with experience or are rather ignorant of the generator system to operate without a severe handicap.

Individual Reports on Generators: The following is a series of reports on each individual generator taken from games I've played. Most of them can be found in the replays section.

Replenishment: A generator that functions like a moon well. It recovers mana and life with its mana.

A potent generator. This functions as a makeshift healing fountain and can give a hero a quick boost of life and mana to continue a fight. Best deployed at an outpost or behind an obelisk tower to get a hero back in the action and ready to fight. A good generator, but underused.

Structural Support: A generator that provides nearby buildings with a +9 armor boost and can repair nearby buildings with a 16 life aoe heal.